Ponerology – The study of evil

political-ponerology

Nǐ hǎo Matrix Glitches!

I stumbled across this Polish dude droppin’ some knowledge and methinks you folkses will find this to be pretty interesting. It seems like a refreshing look at the origins of the psychopathy underlying the instrumentalities of power. Here’s the link:

PONEROLOGY: THE STUDY OF EVIL – Andrew M. Lobaczewski

“In the author’s opinion, Ponerology reveals itself to be a new branch of science born out of historical need and the most recent accomplishments of medicine and psychology. In light of objective naturalistic language, it studies the causal components and processes of the genesis of evil, regardless of the latter’s social scope. We may attempt to analyze these ponerogenic processes which have given rise to human injustice, armed with proper knowledge, particularly in the area of psychopathology. Again and again, as the reader will discover, in such a study, we meet with the effects of pathological factors whose carriers are people characterized by some degree of various psychological deviations or defects.(Lobaczewski, 42)

“With very few exceptions down the ages, discussions in moral philosophy – the study of right conduct – have failed to systematically investigate the origin, nature, and course of evil in a manner free from supernatural imaginings. Evil was often considered something to be endured rather than something that could be understood and eliminated by rational measures. And – as Lobaczewski demonstrates – the origin of evil actually lies outside the boundaries of the conventional worldview within which the earlier moral inquiries and literary explorations were conducted. Evil requires a truly modern and scientific approach to lay bare its secrets. This approach is called “ponerology”, the study of evil, from the Greek “poneros” = evil.

Our modern Western culture lacks an adequate framework to understand the causes and processes of what we commonly refer to as evil in our history. The Third Reich, the Bolshevik Revolution, Stalinism… Our body of literature, social sciences, and our common sense of morality only scratch the surface of a true comprehension of the nature of evil. Thus, the very people who are, in fact, the initiators of the greatest ponerogenic activity pass undetected. Our lack of understanding will inevitably lead to the very problems that the majority of humanity seeks to prevent.”

I think this is a novel consideration of the problem of evil. Is it truth? Well, that’s for you guys to determine. And remember, Jedi training must culminate in an expansion of consciousness to facilitate gnosis and it can only be accomplished by a radical disassociation from all established conventions of belief.

One love,

HJ

About H3nry J3kyll
Vincit omnia veritas (using an obscure Latin heraldry motto makes one seem kinda learned and distinguished).

11 Responses to Ponerology – The study of evil

  1. ptero9 says:

    I have been thinking about the nature of evil and how one gets to the point of someone like Hitler, Stalin or a serial murderer for that matter. In light of the idea that there is an undivided Whole that we all belong to, I wonder if the propensity towards evil actions is in proportion to the habit of separation from the whole. Are people who are capable of committing evil acts fragmented in their relationship to others and to awareness of their being part of an undivided whole to the point that their mental habits are locked in by a certain fantasy which suggests to them that the evil act must be committed?

    Sorry, not sure if that makes any sense Henry.

    • H3nry J3kyll says:

      I do think there’s merit in your line of reasoning. If I understand correctly, their personal delusion of being isolated/ separated can lead to conditioning that facilitates just about anything based upon the degree of perceived separateness? And, the act becomes a necessity within whatever fantasy has been concocted? These certainly sound like reasonable propositions to me. The relation between degree of separation and degree of evil is also quite interesting.

      I once, rather naively I might add, thought that there is no such thing as evil only a pathological perception of good. “Good for me” becomes so distorted that harm to others or “evil” becomes acceptable. Whether pedophilia, or genocide, the act is perceived as “good” from the standpoint of the committing party. Then I grew up and realized that good and evil are far too nuanced for me to reduce to a simple proposition in my little head. lol I can only comprehend minuscule aspects of these principles.
      Harm to self can also be construed as evil and we haven’t even begun to talk about the seven deadlies. There’s a reason why artists and poets have spent millennia trying to capture the essence of evil. Just trying to define the words “evil” or “good” is PhD candidate stuff. When we begin to look at the influence of the heavenly spheres on behavior, then things get really interesting.

      Ah well, glad to provide some food for thought.

      • ptero9 says:

        Yes, to your questions. I would add though that the person who is stuck in a habit that leads them to evil acts, probably is not aware of their separateness, just as none of us can ever really measure how much wholeness we perceive without having the entire scale laid out before us.

        I think too, that obsessions and fantasies are big part of this disposition. I used to study serial killers and it certainly rings true for them. They display ritualistic behavior, especially with their victims.

        Perhaps we can understand the extremes of evil by understanding that to a lesser extent we all have fantasies and obsessions, but the subject matter is much more benign than Hitler’s vision of being a world ruler!

        “There’s a reason why artists and poets have spent millennia trying to capture the essence of evil. Just trying to define the words “evil” or “good” is PhD candidate stuff.”

        For sure! It fascinates as well as repels. Like you, there was a time in my life when I thought evil was just a relative description, and not real in essence. But I think that is naïve. I like to think that anyone, not matter how much they have fallen into dark and impenetrable places, have the potential to be healed.

        Thanks for the stimulating conversation! I am curious as to what you mean by “influence of the heavenly spheres.” Do you mean astrological forces, or angelic/demonic beings, or?

    • H3nry J3kyll says:

      I was referring to astrology but certainly cannot exclude intelligence that exists beyond our conceptions of time and space. It’s easy to dismiss individual accounts of angelic or demonic entities as irrational nonsense but there have been far too many accounts of brushes with the tangential for me to be dismissive. We’ll leave those certainties for the fellas with all the answers. lol
      I thank you for the discussion Debra. The feedback is always appreciated.

  2. tubularsock says:

    ptero9, with all due respect …….. “I like to think that anyone, no matter how much they have fallen into dark and impenetrable places, have the potential to be healed.”

    Sorry to inform you but there is only one known exception to your statement in Tubularsock’s opinion and thus ……….. cheneyesk —- an evil which has NO redemption!

    Now grasshopper, take the pebble from my hand ………….

  3. carolahand says:

    I missed this when you posted it, H3nry, but I am intrigued by the video and dialogue. It reminds me of me of my work in tribal communities. “Bad medicine” is real to many “educated”, “professional” Native people. You can see it in the patterns of behavior from some people, and like Debra, I have wanted to believe that all could be healed.
    But like cancer cells, disease from venomous people (like Hitler, or Cheney) spreads outward, infecting others. When those others control the mechanisms of government, great harm is done.

    I would like to trust my rationality alone, yet I have to admit evil can be felt emanating from some people – as you say, perhaps from the absence of soul in their eyes. I remember a powerful enemy I made in tribal country because I stood between someone who saw herself as truly evil and the people she was harming. She did what she could to destroy me on many levels – but obviously I survived. Years later, we were speakers at the same conference in Long Beach. After my workshop – a standing-room-only success – and a long day traveling with strange colleagues, I was exhausted and fell asleep in my “cabin” on the Queen Mary, only to wake from a nightmare at 3 a.m., ready to call a cab and fly home early. In the dream, I was covered with open sores and having difficulty breathing. The voice of the “guide” who speaks to me in these types of dreams said. “This is evil. You need to acknowledge it is so or you will die.” I replied “I don’t believe in evil.” Again, the guide repeated the message, and again I refused to acknowledge the truth of the message. I grew weaker and was dying when the guide repeated the message for the third time. This time I knew who was sending the “bad medicine” and why and I admitted evil does sometimes exist and awoke. I could breathe. I admit I was terrified of the power to cause such harm. I had seen this person who hated me with such intensity destroy marriages, careers, and people. I guess it was my arrogance that led me to believe I could stand against such power on my own. Admitting something was evil seemed to invoke a sense of connection to protective forces. I know this sounds crazy. But the clip you showed is evil. Killing children in Iraq or Gaza or the ovens during the holocaust is evil. Wounded Knee, slavery sweat shops, GMOs, fracking – to name a few examples – are manifestations of evil. The instigator of these atrocities is like typhoid Mary – infecting others often without their knowing. Is healing possible? I honestly don’t know…

    (I hope you still talk to me after this comment, H3nry :-) . )

    • H3nry J3kyll says:

      Hi Carol,
      First, I would like to thank you for sharing your story with me. I understand the deeply personal nature of these experiences and I’m certainly aware of the problems involved in contextualizing these with the purely rational conditioning of consensus culture. Have no fear my friend, you’ll find neither derision nor discounting here. I think we must embrace the totality of our experience to gain any real self-knowledge and I appreciate your bravery in acknowledging the reality of your experience.

      Now the fun stuff. lol

      I think it incredible that you have access to the insights of this realm via a dream guide and were actually wise enough to heed the warnings. Often times the rational mind has trouble processing data received from dreams and I think this can be problematic for the individual. Clearly the “higher” aspect of yourself was well aware of the imminent danger presented by the evil intentions towards you.
      Ever heard of “mal yeux” or “evil eye?” Mediterranean and Eastern cultures possess a general awareness of the idea that through ill intentions of another, an individual can be harmed. Amulets, charms, and prayer are often used to counter the effects of these threats. If the observer creates the reality as the new thinking in physics suggests, then there may be some merit to these ancestrally vetted precepts.

      Personally, I don’t view evil as some irreconcilable aspect of being but view it as a necessary implication stemming from the presence of good. You’re so right about men like Cheney and the European hordes that perpetrated countless acts of brutality around the world being evil. I remember reading about the revered colonialist Lord Jeffs who purposely gave small pox infected blankets to native American people. Now I can use no adjective to describe an act of this nature but evil. The Yankee butcher Harry Truman’s decision to use nuclear weapons on innocent civilians despite the imminent Japanese surrender after the fire-bombing of Tokyo is another such illustration of an evil act. I know I’m preaching to the choir Carol, but thought these examples apropos.

      Is healing possible you ask. That’s a tough one as any askew glance at the global state of affairs can be quite disheartening. I view healing as inevitable however. The world song shall continue to be sung and this awakening of humanity to the divine feminine is the mother goddess’ call to save her progeny.

      • carolahand says:

        H3nry, you are among the most erudite, eloquent people I have encountered on my journeys, and so open to new ideas. I appreciate your affirming and thoughtful comments a great deal..

        • H3nry J3kyll says:

          You’re far too generous my friend, but thank you for the kind remarks. I too appreciate the exchange and enjoy the wealth of knowledge and perspective that you bring to the discourse.

Would you like to add anything?

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

aryayogi

Sprituality, Integral Yoga, Evolutionary Consciousness

cosmic-union

Exploring Union and the Cosmos

Profane Light

Discovering the sacred in the profane and enlightenment among the shadows.

Living my life as a Empath.

Highly Sensitive Empath

the bippity boppity beautiful blog

let's create something beautiful - Katie Ann De Crescenzo

The Dream Well

We believe time spent sleeping is time spent well!

#AskSirMwangi

©SirMwangi 2017, All Rights Reserved

Mind Clouds

Thoughts on mindfulness in daily life

janeadamsart

An illustrated Journal of eastern and western wisdom

The Grand Tangent

Musings by V. St. Clare

Steven Inspire

Motivational Content to Inspire, Vision And Success

Sophia's Children

Being the Heartful Change in an Age of Disconnect

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Let's talk about Africa, America.

An American view of Africa. Africa is not a country.

hocuspocus13

Magickal Arts

Embracing Forever

Explorations in Authenticity by Michael Mark

litebeing chronicles

snapshots of an incarnation

wergods

Love, Truth, God, Moral, Justice, Virtue, Religions, Freedom

Inside the box

Dream. Explore. Discover.

Past Life Tourist

Brenda Ann Babinski

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

Political Paradigms

Time To Break The Ceiling~

OCCUPY AMERICA

Depose the Tyranny / Restore Our Freedom

MIRACLES EACH DAY

Devotionals on A COURSE IN MIRACLES and A COURSE OF LOVE . . .with Celia Hales

terryclarke blog

Eclectic collection of posts on human rights, social justice, environmental issues, science, sports, Jeremy Lin, Ethnic Kazakhs and Central Asia

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

The Sister Abigail Show

Activist, Author, Nutritional Consultant, Raw Food Chef

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

nadiaharhash

living in the shoes of a woman

Blog Kunterbund von G.B.

http://zitroneblog.wordpress.com

Sthapati Samanvayam

Aum Gan Ganapataye Namaha | Shri Gurubhyo Namaha

Organic Opinion

Finding it, aye there's the rub~

takingthemaskoff

Addiction, Mental Health, Stigma, Spirituality

1000EYES.MAG

Knowledge Against Information

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

That’s So Jacob

random thoughts 'n things from the life of jacob

THE LOS PERSPECTIVE

The Journey and Adventures of a Hindu Pagan

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Spiritual Awakening

Life in the presence

wormholes

Quantum Computing , Politics , Poetry , Life in general

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

